Bob Marley and The Wailers - Catch A Fire (1972) (2CD Deluxe Edit 2001)

Bob Marley and The Wailers - Catch A Fire (1972) (2CD Deluxe Edit 2001)

This two-disc set heralds the beginning of the overdue reassessment of Bob Marley & the Wailers' Island Records/Tuff Gong CD catalog -- and where better to begin than the beginning? Catch a Fire (Deluxe Edition) actually goes one better -- issuing the original as well as a non-overdubbed (aka "Jamaican") version of the album. Disc one contains the latter version -- which has been previously unissued until this point. It also tends to overshadow the brilliant sonic restoration done on the standard issue -- featured on disc two. The early "Jamaican version" of Catch a Fire consists of the album as it was first delivered to Chris Blackwell -- talent scout/owner/operator of Island Records. While pleased with the results, Blackwell convinced Marley & the Wailers that sonic enhancements might be in order. The "Jamaican version" was then remixed with added lead guitar work by Nashville cat Wayne Perkins, as well as various keyboards textures from John "Rabbit" Bundrick. The ironic thing is that the changes and augmentations made by the session pros ultimately suppressed the organic and otherwise uncomplicated nature of Marley & the Wailers music. This very quality became the thing that propelled Marley -- and ultimately his message -- globally as well as spiritually, allowing him to join the ranks of John Lennon, Bob Dylan, and Marvin Gaye. Also included on the "Jamaican version" are two additional tracks: "High Tide or Low Tide" and "All Day All Night" recorded for inclusion on the original Catch a Fire. While they have been released in various forms over the years, they have been returned to their place in the Catch a Fire running order. The second disc contains Catch a Fire the way it was originally issued. While not as historically significant, it has never sounded better...V. Iyengar

320 @
165 MB


CD 1

01 Concrete Jungle 4:16
02 Stir It Up 3:39
03 High Tide or Low Tide 4:44
04 Stop That Train 3:55
05 400 Years 3:02
06 Baby We've Got a Date (Rock It Baby) 4:05
07 Midnight Ravers 5:09
08 All Day All Night 3:29
09 Slave Driver 2:56
10 Kinky Reggae 3:44
11 No More Trouble 5:16

CD 2

01 Concrete Jungle 4:14
02 Slave Driver 2:54
03 400 Years 2:46
04 Stop That Train 3:56
05 Baby We've Got a Date (Rock It Baby) 3:58
06 Stir It Up 5:34
07 Kinky Reggae 3:39
08 No More Trouble 4:00
09 Midnight Ravers 5:08

disc one - track 6 / disc two - track 5


Anonymous said...

links covers are dead o broke...?

samantha said...