Humble Pie - Town and Country (1969) (Japan Mini LP 2001)

Humble Pie - Town and Country (1969) (Japan Mini LP 2001)

Anyone who thinks of Humble Pie solely in terms of their latter-day boogie rock will be greatly surprised with this, the band's second release, for it is almost entirely acoustic. There is a gently rocking cover of Buddy Holly's "Heartbeat," and a couple of electrified Steve Marriott numbers, but the overall feel is definitely more of the country than the town or city. "The Sad Bag of Shaky Jake" is a typical Marriott country ditty, similar to those he would include almost as a token on each of the subsequent studio albums, and "Every Mother's Son" is structured as a folk tale. On "The Light of Love," Marriott even plays sitar. Peter Frampton's contributions here foreshadow the acoustic-based music he would make as a solo artist a few years later. As a whole, this is a crisp, cleanly recorded, attractive-sounding album, totally atypical of the Humble Pie catalog, but well worth a listen. ...J. Newsom

320 @
105 MB


01 Take me back 04:54
02 The sad bag of Shaky Jake 03:01
03 The light of love 03:02
04 Cold lady 03:24
05 Down home again 02:58
06 Ollie ollie 00:52
07 Every mother's sun 05:45
08 Heartbeat 02:35
09 Only you can see 03:40
10 Silver tongue 03:22
11 Home and away 05:57
12 79th street blues (Bonus) 03:03
13 Greg's song (Bonus) 04:28


William Lee said...

Where's part 3 of the RAR file?

Awesome blog, by the way.

sam said...

only 2 parts...

rename archives and try again...

William Lee said...

Ok, I'll try to do that. :)