Jefferson Starship - Red Octopus (1975) (Legacy Remaster Edit 2005)

Jefferson Starship - Red Octopus (1975) (Legacy Remaster Edit 2005)

Technically speaking, Red Octopus was the first album credited to Jefferson Starship, though practically the same lineup made Dragon Fly, credited to Grace Slick/Paul Kantner/Jefferson Starship. The difference, however, was crucial: Marty Balin was once again a fully integrated bandmember, writing or co-writing five of the ten tracks. And there can be little doubt that it was Balin's irresistible ballad "Miracles," the biggest hit single in the Jefferson Whatever catalog, that propelled Red Octopus to the top of the charts; the only Jefferson album to chart that high; and the best-selling album in their collective lives. This must have been sweet vindication for Balin, who founded Jefferson Airplane but then drifted away from the group as it veered away from his musical vision. Now, the collective was incorporating his taste without quite integrating it: "Miracles," with its strings and sax solo by non-bandmember Irv Cox, was hardly a characteristic Airplane/Starship track. But then, neither exactly was Papa John Creach's showcase, "Git Fiddler," or bassist Pete Sears' instrumental "Sandalphon," which sounded like something from an early Procol Harum album. Slick has three strong songs, among them the second single "Play on Love." Like Dragon Fly, Red Octopus reflected a multiplicity of musical tastes; there were ten credited songwriters, seven of whom were in the band. If there is any consistency in this material, it is in subject matter (love songs). The album is more ballad-heavy and melodic than the Airplane albums, which made it more accessible to the broader audience it reached, though "Sweeter Than Honey" is as tough a rocker as the band ever played. [The 2005 reissue of Red Octopus contains four bonus tracks including the single version of "Miracles" and songs recorded live at Winterland in 1975.]...W. Ruhlmann

320 @
142 MB


01 Fast Buck Freddie 3:30
02 Miracles 6:53
03 Git Fiddler Instrumental 3:11
04 Al Garimasu (There Is Love) 4:17
05 Sweeter Than Honey 3:23
06 Play on Love 3:46
07 Tumblin' 3:29
08 I Want to See Another World 4:36
09 Sandalphon Instrumental 4:11
10 There Will Be Love 5:08
11 Miracles - Bonus / Single Version 3:30
12 Band Introduction- Live / prev. unreleased / Bonus 1:15
13 Fast Buck Freddie - Live / prev. unreleased / Bonus 3:35
14 There Will Be Love- Live / prev. unreleased / Bonus 4:58
15 You're Driving Me Crazy - Live / prev. unreleased / Bonus 6:45


Anonymous said...

give tx !
Track 10 is missing......

samantha said...


Russtafarian said...

Hi there,

Really looking forward to this album - any chance you could tell me the password?


sam said...