Red Hot Chili Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Magik (1991) (Japan Mini LP 2006)

Red Hot Chili Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Magik (1991) (Japan Mini LP 2006)

Limited edition Japanese pressing of the 1991 album comes packaged in a miniature LP sleeve. Featuring some of the band's best known moments ('Under The Bridge', 'Give It Away', 'Breaking The Girl' and 'Suck My Kiss', this was the band's breakthrough album that turned them into worldwide arena superstars. Distriibuted for a limited time in Europe with new UPC number.WB. 2006.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers' best album, Blood Sugar Sex Magik benefits immensely from Rick Rubin's production -- John Frusciante's guitar is less overpoweringly noisy, leaving room for differing textures and clearer lines, while the band overall is more focused and less indulgent, even if some of the grooves drag on too long. Lyrically, Anthony Kiedis is as preoccupied with sex as ever, whether invoking it as his muse, begging for it, or boasting in great detail about his prowess, best showcased on the infectiously funky singles "Give It Away" and "Suck My Kiss." However, he tempers his testosterone with a more sensitive side, writing about the emotional side of failed relationships ("Breaking the Girl," "I Could Have Lied"), his drug addictions ("Under the Bridge" and an elegy for Hillel Slovak, "My Lovely Man"), and some hippie-ish calls for a peaceful utopia. Three of those last four songs (excluding "My Lovely Man") mark the band's first consistent embrace of lilting acoustic balladry, and while it's not what Kiedis does best as a vocalist, these are some of the album's finest moments, varying and expanding the group's musical and emotional range. Frusciante departed after the supporting tour, leaving Blood Sugar Sex Magik as probably the best album the Chili Peppers will ever make...S. Huey

320 @
170 MB


01 The Power of Equality 4:03
02 If You Have to Ask 3:37
03 Breaking the Girl 4:55
04 Funky Monks 5:23
05 Suck My Kiss 3:37
06 I Could Have Lied 4:04
07 Mellowship Slinky In B Major 4:00
08 The Righteous & The Wicked 4:08
09 Give It Away 4:43
10 Blood Sugar Sex Magik 4:31
11 Under the Bridge 4:24
12 Naked In The Rain 4:26
13 Apache Rose Peacock 4:42
14 The Greeting Song 3:14
15 My Lovely Man 4:39
16 Sir Psycho Sexy 8:17
17 They're Red Hot 1:12

1 comment:

Rob J said...

It is very ironic to think that the RHCC are the last major band to use funk music as the template for global success.

Hip hop has since replaced this glorious sound as the global soundtrack for teenagers,

In a way,this album is the last of its' kind, although nobody could have forseen the advance in music tastes.

By fusing Hendrix,Funkadelic and Robert Johnson into a flawless collection of tracks, they raised the game to such an extent they never matched it by following albums.

If you have to buy one album by them, this is the one.

A stone classic.