The Motels - Shock (1985) (1990)

The Motels - Shock (1985) (1990)

Released on Capitol Records in 1985, Shock was the Motels' fifth studio album (not including their unreleased Apocalypso album from 1981). "Shame," the lead single, peaked at No. 21 on the Pop Singles Chart. The title track was remixed and released as single, peaking at No. 84 on the Pop Singles Chart. Produced by Richie Zito, the album reached No. 36 on the Pop Albums Chart. Soon afterward the Motels disbanded and Martha Davis went solo, releasing her Policy album in 1987. Reissued on CD in the US in 1990, Shock is long out of print and difficult to find.

With Shock, the Motels attempted to move squarely into the MTV-sponsored pop/rock mainstream, adding harder guitars and bigger hooks. Although their makeover isn't entirely successful, the best moments on the album -- "Shame," "Cries and Whispers" and the title track -- are enjoyable mainstream rock.

320 @


Arthur Barrow - Synthesizer, Fretless Bass
Martha Davis - Guitar, Vocals
Brian Glascock - Percussion, Drums
Michael Goodroe - Bass
Martin Jourard - Keyboards, Saxophone
Guy Perry - Guitar
Scott Thurston - Guitar, Keyboards


01 Shock 04:32
02 Shame 04:14
03 Hungry 04:22
04 Annie Told Me 04:23
05 Icy Red 04:33
06 New York Times 03:59
07 State of the Heart 04:45
08 My Love Stops Here 03:49
09 Cries and Whispers 04:12
10 Night by Night 04:42
11 Hideen Track - Shock (Single Remix) 04:11


Anonymous said...

Need password?

samantha said...


michelangelo1977 said...

THKS BEAUTY..AWESOME JOB..IS 4 ME..THE BEST OF THE L.A's guys...martha has a orgasmic voice..cheers