Frankie Miller - The Rock (1975) (Remaster 2003)

Frankie Miller - The Rock (1975) (Remaster 2003)

The Rock is the third album from Frankie Miller. It features The Memphis Horns and The Edwin Hawkins Singers who supply backing vocals on classic songs like, "A Fool in Love", which enjoyed considerable airplay on both sides of the Atlantic and was a sizeable hit in the USA. "Ain't Got No Money" became the album’s most covered song with notable versions from Cher, Chris Farlowe and Bob Seger. The song, "Drunken Nights In The City", was written for his late-night drinking buddy Jimmy Johnstone, the former (Celtic FC) Scottish footballer. The album was recorded in sight of the prison of Alcatraz in San Francisco, Miller commented that it was only music that had saved him that kind of fate and dedicated the song, The Rock, to the plight of prisoners, a reference to his 2nd cousin Jimmy Boyle.

320 @


Frankie Miller - vocals, rhythm guitar
Henry McCullough - lead guitar, backing vocals
Mick Weaver - keyboards
Chrissy Stewart - bass guitar
Stu Perry - drums, percussion
James Dewar - backing vocals
The Memphis Horns - horn section
The Edwin Hawkins Singers - background vocals


01. A Fool in Love 3:05
02. The Heartbreak 4:03
03. The Rock 3:33
04. I Know Why the Sun Don't Shine 6:01
05. Hard on the Levee 3:17
06. Ain't Got No Money 2:55
07. All My Love To You 5:37
08. I'm Old Enough 4:52
09. Bridgeton 4:47
10. Drunken Nights in the City 3:56
11 Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever (Single A-Side) 3:27
12 I'm Old Enough (Single B-Side) 3:24

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thank you very much for posting this. Years ago I had a choice between a Frankie Miller album or Joni Mitchell's DON JUAN'S RECKLESS DAUGHTER in the remainder bin (I was in High school)...and I chose Joni. Glad I did, but glad to go back and make amends with Frankie. However, I cannot open the file...tried whatever the password might be from the page but none work...