Grateful Dead - Blues For Allah (1975) (Remaster Edit 2006)

Grateful Dead - Blues For Allah (1975) (Remaster Edit 2006)

The last time the Dead ever had the courage to really experiment was this on album, the fruit of their year-long hiatus from touring. It has a particular jazz-rock feel characterised by the fertile mix of effects pedals from Garcia meeting some memorable electric piano from Keith Godchaux. The album is self-confident, tender, funny, and sparkles in a very un-Dead-like way. A lot of it is laughing music.Stand-out tracks are the lithe Franklin's tower, the melancholy Crazy Fingers - with Garcia's best ever recorded solo, a beautiful unstated Zen sequence to really contemplate - and the longmore…, atmospheric Blues for Allah. The album, of course, got lost pretty quickly. it was never a commercial smash and the Dead never cut quite such intelligent music again. But, for once, in some mysterious way, they seemed ahead of the pack, not a plodding note in sight (or sound). This is vital...Rudy Rondo


Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Keith Godchaux - keyboards, vocals
Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
Phil Lesh - bass
Bill Kreutzmann - drums
Mickey Hart - drums

320 @
180 MB


01. Help On The Way/Slipknot! 7.21
02. Franklin's Tower 4.33
03. King Solomon's Marbles 5.16
04. The Music Never Stopped 4.36
05. Crazy Fingers 6.42
06. Sage And Spirit 3.06
07. Blues For Allah 12.44
08. Groove #1 (Instrumental Studio Outtake) (Bonus) 5.45
09. Groove #2 (Instrumental Studio Outtake) (Bonus) 7.35
10. Distorto (Instrumental Studio Outtake) (Bonus) 8.14
11. A To E Flat Jam (Instrumental Studio Outtake) (Bonus) 4.39
12. Proto 18 Proper (Instrumental Studio Outtake) (Bonus) 4.18
13. Hollywood Cantata (Studio Outtake) (Bonus) 4.14

1 comment: