Rolling Stones - Beggars Banquet (1968)

Rolling Stones - Beggars Banquet (1968) (Japan Mini LP 2006)

One of 22 albums to be released in "The Rolling Stones The Sixties Cardboard Sleeve Collection" reissue series. All albums feature DSD mastering from 2002 and cardboard sleeve case designs.

The Stones forsook psychedelic experimentation to return to their blues roots on this celebrated album, which was immediately acclaimed as one of their landmark achievements. A strong acoustic Delta blues flavor colors much of the material, particularly "Salt of the Earth" and "No Expectations," which features some beautiful slide guitar work. Basic rock & roll was not forgotten, however: "Street Fighting Man," a reflection of the political turbulence of 1968, was one of their most innovative singles, and "Sympathy for the Devil," with its fire-dancing guitar licks, leering Jagger vocals, African rhythms, and explicitly satanic lyrics, was an image-defining epic. On "Stray Cat Blues," Jagger and crew began to explore the kind of decadent sexual sleaze that they would take to the point of self-parody by the mid-'70s. At the time, though, the approach was still fresh, and the lyrical bite of most of the material ensured Beggars Banquet's place as one of the top blues-based rock records of all time...R. Unterberge

320 @
95 MB


01 Sympathy For The Devil 6:18
02 No Expectations 3:56
03 Dear Doctor 3:22
04 Parachute Woman 2:20
05 Jigsaw Puzzle 6:06
06 Street Fighting Man 3:16
07 Prodigal Son 2:52
08 Stray Cat Blues 4:37
09 Factory Girl 2:09
10 Salt Of The Earth 4:47


Dave Heasman said...

Hi, this is a great resource but it seems teh file is password-protected when you open it. I haven't managed to spot the password. Can you help?


Dave H

Anonymous said...


Anonymous said...

this one's dead, too