Leonard Cohen - Live in London (2009)

Leonard Cohen - Live in London (2009)

This two-CD collection presents the historic performance of 25 classics drawn from Leonard Cohen's 40-year repertory, including such favorites as "Hallelujah," "Everybody Knows," and "Suzanne." Live in London was recorded live on July 17, 2008 at London's 02 Arena and fully captures and recreates the songwriting legend's extraordinary return to the stage on his first tour in 15 years. It is his first new recording since 2004's gold-certified Dear Heather.

For over four decades, Leonard Cohen has been one of the most important and influential songwriters of our time, a figure whose body of work achieves greater depths of mystery and meaning as time goes on. His songs have set a virtually unmatched standard in their seriousness and range. Sex, spirituality, religion, power - he has relentlessly examined the largest issues in human lives, always with a full appreciation of how elusive answers can be to the vexing questions he raises. But those questions, and the journey he has traveled in seeking to address them, are the ever-shifting substance of his work, as well as the reasons why his songs never lose their overwhelming emotional force. Documentaries, awards, tribute albums and the ongoing march of artists eager to record his songs all acknowledge the peerless contribution Cohen has made to what one of his titles aptly calls "The Tower of Song."
In 2008 Leonard Cohen embarked on his first tour in 15 years. Quickly recognized as musical folklore in the making, 29 of the original dates sold out almost immediately, leaving fans and critics alike hailing the show as a once in a lifetime experience. By popular demand, the Canadian/UK tour was extended and by the end of that year it had reached 84 markets worldwide, selling more than 700,000 tickets. The Live In London release fully captures and recreates the extraordinary show from that tour that earned Cohen more than 80 five-star reviews for his performances...Thor Jarc

320 @
347 MB


CD 1

01 Dance Me to the End of Love 6:20
02 The Future 7:20
03 Ain't No Cure for Love 6:16
04 Bird on the Wire 6:14
05 Everybody Knows 5:52
06 In My Secret Life 5:02
07 Who by Fire 6:35
08 Hey, That's No Way to Say Goodbye 3:47
09 Anthem 7:20
10 Introduction 1:29
11 Tower of Song 7:07
12 Suzanne 3:46
13 The Gypsy's Wife 6:42

CD 2

01 Boogie Street / Sharon Robinson 6:57
02 Hallelujah 7:20
03 Democracy 7:08
04 I'm Your Man 5:41
05 Recitation / Neil Larsen 3:53
06 Take This Waltz 8:37
07 So Long, Marianne 5:24
08 First We Take Manhattan 6:15
09 Sisters of Mercy 4:56
10 If It Be Your Will / Webb Sisters 5:22
11 Closing Time 6:15
12 I Tried to Leave You 8:33
13 Wither Thou Goest 1:27

No comments: