Whitesnake - Slide It In (1984) (25th Anniversary Deluxe Edit)

Following up the splendid Saints & Sinners album was no easy task, but 1984's Slide It In turned out to be an even greater triumph for David Coverdale's Whitesnake. From the boisterous machismo of "Spit It Out" and "All or Nothing" to the resigned despair of "Gambler" and "Standing in the Shadow," and the embarrassingly silly title track, everything seems to click. For hit singles, look no further than the twin guitar attack of "Guilty of Love" and the sheer poetry and emotion of "Love Ain't No Stranger," one of the decade's greatest power ballads, bar none. Not to be outdone, "Slow an' Easy" is a masterpiece of sexual tension and the kind of power-blues which no one does as well as Whitesnake. On a quirky historical note, Coverdale fired most of the band soon after the album's release, replacing them with younger, prettier faces with which to better conquer America. For that purpose, Geffen Records even released a re-recorded version of Slide It In with flashy soloing from new guitarist John Sykes, sparking an ongoing debate as to which version is better. [The 25th Anniversary Edition of Slide It In is a deluxe, two-disc (CD/DVD) package. In addition to an edition of the album completely remixed for a U.S audience (the sound is terrific and is tighter than the slicker Brit mix). the CD contains a whopping ten bonus cuts. They include "Need Your Love So Bad," the B-side of "Give Me More Time," and U.K. mixes of all but two of the original album tracks; only "Hungry for Love" is left off. Also "Love Ain't No Stranger," is taken from the live, 1998 Starkers in Tokyo album. The DVD contains promo videos for "Guilty of Love," "Slow & Easy," and "Love Ain't No Stranger," as well as performances from Castle Donington in 1983, a television appearance of "Give Me More Time," from Top of the Pops in 1984, and other sundry concert videos. The set is packaged in a deluxe slipcase with a 24-page booklet featuring rare photos, album outtake shots, lyrics, and an interview with Whitesnake frontman and founder David Coverdale.]... T. Jurek

320 @
178 MB


01 Gambler U.S. Remix 3:57
02 Slide It In U.S. Remix 3:19
03 Slow & Easy U.S. Remix 6:00
04 Love Ain't No Stranger U.S. Remix 4:14
05 Give Me More Time U.S. Remix 3:42
06 Standing in the Shadow U.S. Remix 3:38
07 Hungry for Love U.S. Remix 3:29
08 All or Nothing U.S. Remix 3:40
09 Spit It Out U.S. Remix 4:28
10 Guilty of Love U.S. Remix 3:24
11 Need Your Love So Bad 45 B-Side 3:16
12 Gambler Bonus / UK Mix 3:50
13 Slide It In Bonus / UK Mix 3:17
14 Standing in the Shadow Bonus / UK Mix 3:29
15 Give Me More Time Bonus / UK Mix 3:39
16 Slow & Easy Bonus / UK Mix 6:02
17 Spit It Out Bonus / UK Mix 4:10
18 All or Nothing Bonus / UK Mix 3:31
19 Guilty of Love Bonus / UK Mix 3:18
20 Love Ain't No Stranger (Starkers in Tokyo) Bonus 3:16


Anonymous said...

Dear Samantha, I get a script-error at 2000mustangs 'http://ads.adbrite.com/mb/text_group.php?sid=1143384&br=1:623' & I can't seem to leave a comment at his site. Thanks /bon

Maurício said...

hey may I ask u to re-up the who's posts, including leeds and who's next with the young vic concert in 320kbps!

and congratulations! lot of good stuff!

Maurício from Brazil

sam said...




Anonymous said...

samantha, Do you know that Forex Is Highest Paying Keyword in Google Adsense? Learn how to use Forex here: